"The Church's One Foundation Is Jesus Christ Her Lord."

# **Dedication Services**

For

## First Baptist Church

Harrisonburg, Virginia

September 6, 1964

3:00 P. M.

**OFFICIATES** 

Rev. Thomas C. Allen, Pastor Dr. M. F. Robinson Rev. David H. Mefford

#### **DEDICATION PROGRAM**

**Organ** Prelude **Call To Worship** The Invocation ...... Rev. Thomas C. Allen, Pastor Hymn Of Praise (No. 244) ...... The Church's One Foundation Wesley Welcome From Church ...... Mrs. Gloria June Moore Rev. Richard Bell, John Wesley Methodist Church Greetings: Churches of Harrisonburg ...... Ministerial Association Mayor of Harrisonburg, Mr. Frank C. Switzer **Berean Valley Baptist Association Recognitions:** Local Committee .... George McGuire, Chm., Deacons Board Architect and Builders ...... Leon A. Awkard, Chairman of Building Committee Presentation of Keys, Mr. Charles E. Burgoyne, Contractor Dedication Hymn (No. 247) ...... I Love Thy Kingdom Lord Handel **Dedication of Tithes and Offerings** The Offertory The Prayer Song of Inspiration Introduction of Speaker ...... Rev. Thomas C. Allen The Dedication Sermon ...... Dr. M. F. Robinson Pastor First Baptist Church, Covington, Va. The Responsive Reading of Dedication ... Rev. David H. Mefford. Minister, Harrisonburg Baptist Church Pastor New Hope Baptist Church, McGaheysville, Va. Hymn, (No. 343) ...... Come, We That Love The Lord—Lowry Remarks by the Pastor **Closing Hymn** Benediction

#### "HISTORICAL SKETCH"

#### 1871 - 1964

In the year of 1871 the Baptist believers desired to build a house of worship in the town of Harrisonburg, Virginia.

The Rev. William Hill was called for this purpose, and was the church's first pastor. From his leadership and the aid of a few Baptist people a church was organized.

The first building was located on West Market Street. In 1873 a church was erected on the corner of Wolfe and Mason Streets at a cost of about \$850.

This Church soon became too small for the growing congregation. In 1878, under the leadership of Dr. G. B. Howard, the old church was set back 50 feet. A new church was erected at the cost of several thousand.

Having no basement to the new edifice, the congregation then decided to use the old church building as a Hall and Lecture room.

In later years a church house was built on the church property for its ministers.

In the year 1963 the church was purchased by the City of Harrisonburg for the Urban Renewal Program.

Ground breaking for the present church was held Sept. 17, 1963. Corner Stone was laid February 23, 1964. First Service was held July 12, 1964.

Former Pastors of the Church were:

Rev. W. Hill	Rev. St. Clair Drake
Rev. J. W. Howard	Rev. Jordan
Rev. Deskins	Rev. Arthurs Rev. Crump
Rev. J. W. Hasket	Rev. Walker
Rev. G. Fox	Rev. Lee
Rev. T. White	Rev. J. O. Wright
Rev. S. O. Garland	Rev. J. Morgan
Rev. Taylor	Rev. O. Simms
Rev. S. Moses	Rev. T. C. Allen
	Rev. Duncan
	Rev. Chewiams Rev. Williams Rev. Williams
	Rek. Minfimore

#### THE SERVICE OF DEDICATION

The people standing and all joining in the responses.

- Pastor: To the glory of God, our Father, by whose favor we have built this house;To the honor of Jesus, the Christ, the son of the living God, our Lord and Saviour;To the praise of the Holy Spirit, source of light and life;
- People: We dedicate this house.
- Pastor: For worship in prayer and song; For the ministry of the Word; For the celebration of the Holy Sacraments;
- People: We dedicate this house.
- Pastor: For Comfort to those who mourn; For strength to those who are tempted; For help in right living;
- People: We dedicate this house.
- Pastor: For the sanctification of the family; For the guidance of childhood; For the salvation of men;
- People: We dedicate this house.
- Pastor. For aggression against evil; For fostering patriotism; For promoting civic righteousness;
- People: We dedicate this house.
- Pastor: For sympathy and fellowship with the needy; For brotherhood with all men; For the essential unity of all believers in Jesus Christ;
- People: We dedicate this house.

- Pastor: For the building of character; For the giving of hope and courage to human hearts; For the teaching of morality, temperance and justice;
- People: We dedicate this house.

Pastor: For missionary endeavor at home and abroad;

- For world-wide evangelism and education, till all the kingdoms of the world become the kingdom of our Lord, and of his Christ;
  - For the reform of social wrongs, till all human society is transformed into a kingdom of heaven;
- People: We dedicate this house.
- Pastor: In grateful remembrance of all who have loved and served this church; with hearts tender for those who have fared forth from the earthly habitations;
- People: We dedicate this house.
- Pastor and People:

We, now, the people of this church and congregation, compassed about with a great cloud of witnesses, grateful for our heritage, remembering the sacrifices of the fathers, confessing that apart from them our work could not be made perfect, do decicate ourselves anew to the worthy worship of God in this place and to the constant service of God in the Christian service of men.

#### Gifts Of Memorial Windows

Mr. George Terrell
Mr. Leon Awkard
Mrs. Hattie Washington and Mrs. Margaret Rowe
Mr. Hampton Sampson
Mrs. Maude Carter
Miss Mary F. Awkard
Miss Louise Winston
Mrs. Mary Yokley
Mr. Earl Harris
P.F.C. Gary Martin
Mr. Edward Black
Mrs. Marena Flemming

#### **Board Of Deacons**

George McGuire, Chairman Albert Francis Hampton Sampson Ralph Sampson Allan Howard Charles Thomas James Fairfax

#### **Trustee Board**

Robert Fields, Sr., Chairman George Terrell Leon Awkard Percy Wells

Church Treasurer	Mrs. Maude Carter
Church Secretary	Mrs. Marena Flemming
Church Organist	Miss Mary F. Awkard
President Ladies Auxiliary	Mrs. Hattie Washington
Head Usher	Mrs. Inez Williams
Sunday School Supt.	Miss Elsie Martin

### **Building Committee**

Mrs. Maude Carter Mr. Leon Awkard Mr. Charles Thomas Mr. Allen Howard Miss Mary Awkard Mrs. Susie Bryant Mrs. Hattie Washington Mrs. Ruby Sampson Mr. Lester McCall

